Apr 222016
 

 Product Details:

Title: Love Under Construction {An Indulgence Row Novel-Book#2}

Author: Danyelle Ferguson

Published: 19th April 2016

Publisher: Wonderstruck Books

Pages: 260

Format: ebook

Genre: Romance

FTC, FYI: I received a review e-copy in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by : Sheila

Goodreads badge

 

Enjoy this new sweet romance from award-winning author Danyelle Ferguson and enter to win the Kindle Fire/Sweet Romance Ebook Bundle giveaway!

Book Details:

Charlee was angry . . .

What do you do when your boss makes someone else the lead on a big renovation project that should rightfully be yours? You quit. On second thought, that might not be the best idea, but Charlee Jackson has never been one for second thoughts. Instead, she lands a big contract of her own. She’s jumping into her new life—work boots, tool belt and all. Now she just needs to form a company and hire contractors and buy supplies and get an office . . . and not fall in love with her former boss’s son. Yeah. Definitely not that last one.

Peter was torn . . .

You can’t date someone who works for you, but now that his dad let Charlee walk out the door, Peter Elliot is considering his options. Charlee was their top renovation expert, his best friend’s sister, and the only thing that made the drudgery of running a large construction business bearable. But how do you date a competitor, especially one your father is trying to drive out of business? It would be stupid to make your dad angry right before he retires and hands the company over to you. Right?

When Charlee and Peter are scheduled to work on the same Indulgence Row house, their feelings and priorities are put to the test. They need to make a choice, and they better be quick about it, because the whole mixture is curing fast and threatening to crumble to pieces.

Purchase Now! AMAZONBN  *  iTUNES  *  KOBO  *  GOODREADS

My Review: 

There were so many reasons that I liked reading Love Under Construction. My first thought as I got into the story was how realistic the characters were. Both of the main characters, Charlee and Peter were portrayed  as real people, not so perfect, but very likable. They had been childhood friends and lately co-workers until Charlee leaves Peter’s family business and starts up her own construction company. Things aren’t wonderful with Charlee leaving and Peter’s father wanting to make Charlee’s life miserable for leaving. Peter on the other hand is in love with Charlee, but she doesn’t know. One thing I was really happy about, is that the author didn’t drag out this part of the story. About 1/3 of the way in, Peter tells Charlee about his feelings towards her. This doesn’t mean that things are all amazing from here out, there are still many challenges and stepping stones for them along the way. In fact Peter says something about how they will have to take relationship lessons called, ‘How to remodel a friendship into a romantic relationship.’ This would also describe much of what happens in the story too.

Another great reason to read this book is that even though it’s a romance it is full of humor. I was giggling through many of the funny things that happened and what was said. The dialogue is so much fun and written very well. In one scene Peter is comparing friendship to French fries and relationships to mashed potatoes. Charlee teases him saying she likes mashed potatoes and Peter hushes her telling her not to mock “The Relationship Master”. These ideas are actually explained in more detail and make a lot of sense, but Peter’s cute personality shines through in the process. Peter is a great lead man who is very appealing to me and I know he will do the same for other female readers. 

Though it seems like many things keep these two apart in the book, it is such a fun ride along the way. This book is also very appealing to those who love watching shows found on HTV where people’s homes are remodeled. I enjoyed seeing the changes and improvements that were made on businesses and homes that were described in such wonderful detail. It was also nice to see a confident, determined woman not let things get her down. 

This romance will be enjoyed by adult readers that want a little spice in a romance, but where things are still kept clean. With a great plot, fantastic characters and the right amount of humor and kissing, Love Under Construction is built for one terrific read.

MEET AUTHOR: Danyelle Ferguson

Danyelle Ferguson discovered her love for the written word in elementary school. Her first article was published when she was in 6th grade. Since then, she’s won several awards and her work has been published world-wide in newspapers, magazines and books.

She grew up surrounded by Pennsylvania’s beautiful Allegheny Mountains, then lived for ten years among the majestic Wasatch Mountains. She is currently experiencing mountain-withdrawal while living in Kansas with her husband and family. She enjoys reading, writing, dancing and singing in the kitchen, and the occasional long bubble bath to relax from the everyday stress of being “Mommy.”

Website  *  Facebook  *  Twitter

KINDLE AND SWEET ROMANCE 

EBOOK BUNDLE GIVEAWAY

Enter to win a Kindle Fire and this fabulous bundle of sweet romances! The giveaway is open internationally. If the winner lives outside the Amazon Prime free shipping area, the winner will receive the sweet romance ebook bundle and the choice of either a $40 Amazon giftcard or PayPal cash.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Related Posts:

Apr 142016
 

Product Details:
Title:First Light (Forever After Series Book 1) 
Author: Michele Paige Holmes
Published:February 25th 2016 by Mirror Press
Genre: YA Fantasy/Fairytale Romance
 Paperback: 494 pages
 ISBN-10: 1941145760
FTC, FYI: I received a review e-copy in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed By: Sheila

 

 Book Details:

Seventeen-year-old Adrielle doesn’t believe in magic; she merely possesses it, though no one has ever mentioned that her unusual gifts—exceptional speed, a flair for fire, and an intimate knowledge of flora—aren’t things she was born
with. When Adrielle starts a fire that burns down the family home, she
must deal with both her grief and her siblings’ hurtful rejection.

While journeying to far away Tallinyne, in search of her older, estranged
sister—the only relative who might take her in—Adrielle is separated
from her escort when the carriage is beset by thieves. Alone, she is
thrust into a dangerous and unfamiliar world where she encounters
fairies and gypsies, a wild boar, a drunk cook, and an evil queen whose
curse is sweeping death across the land. Adrielle also finds love,
falling hard for a kind, funny, handsome—and completely unavailable
prince.

From the glowing pearls tucked beneath her mattress and
keeping her awake at night, to Queen Nadamaris’s curse that seems to
thwart Adrielle’s every effort, Adrielle struggles to navigate a world
of magic she never imagined, where people she knows and loves are not
always what they appear to be. With the glowing pearls—and her fondest
desire—within her grasp, she is forced to make a choice no girl should
ever have to—satisfying her own heart or saving the kingdom.

 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28669109-first-light?from_search=true&search_version=service
My Review:
I love fairytales and a great romance.This new book by Author Michele Paige Holmes gives you both in her new novel, First Light: Book One in the Forever After Series. I loved reading this novel and trying to figure out which fairytales the author had mixed into her story. There was a great mix of the fairytales from Cinderella to Sleeping Beauty. It also has magical fairies, an evil queen and our heroine sleeping by the hearth in the cinders. I loved the handsome prince, Cristian and also some of the more shady characters too. This story truly belongs to main character Adrielle as she finds out who she truly is and the power and magic within herself to find happiness and save the kingdom. I loved the fact that she ended up being the true hero in the story.
The storyline and plot isn’t complicated, but flows easy enough for you to sit down and have a quick, enjoyable read. If you love a fairytale where good triumphs over evil, and love conquers all, you will enjoy reading First Light.
Content: Clean romance with some kissing; mild violence, and no swearing.

Purchase Links:

http://amzn.to/1VPfunH

 

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/first-light-michele-paige-holmes/1123585504?ean=9781941145760

Meet Author: Michele Paige Holmes:
Michele Paige HolmesMichele Paige Holmes spent her childhood and youth in Arizona and
northern California, often curled up with a good book instead of out
enjoying the sunshine. She graduated from Brigham Young University with a
degree in Elementary Education and found it an excellent major in which
to indulge her love of children’s literature.
Her first novel, COUNTING STARS (Covenant Communications 2007), won the 2007 Whitney Award for best romance. The sequel, a romantic suspense titled, ALL THE STARS IN HEAVEN (Covenant 2009), was a Whitney finalist, as was her
first historical romance, CAPTIVE HEART (Covenant 2011). MY LUCKY STARS
(Covenant 2012) completed the Stars series.

In October 2014 Michele launched the Hearthfire historical romance line with the
publication of SAVING GRACE (Mirror Press 2014). The companion novel,
LOVING HELEN (Mirror Press 2015) was released in February 2015. A third
book about this same family, MARRYING CHRISTOPHER, (Mirror Press 2015)
was published in August 2015, with a Christmas novella, TWELVE DAYS IN
DECEMBER (Mirror Press 2015) released in December.

The next Hearthfire historical romance will be published in early summer of 2016.

In February 2016, Michele is launching the first book in the FOREVER AFTER
young adult fairy tale series. FIRST LIGHT (Mirror Press February 2016)
will be followed by a sequel LAST DAY in fall 2016. A third fairy tale,
PARADISE, will be published in 2017.

Michele attributes much of what she knows about good writing to time spent with her critique group
and feels that joining a critique group is the single best thing an
author can to do help improve his or her writing. She has been a member
of RWA and URWA, LDStorymakers, and The League of Utah Writers. Michele
enjoys both attending and teaching at conferences.

When not reading or writing romance, Michele is busy with her full time job as a
wife and mother. She and her husband live in Utah with their five high
maintenance children and a Shitzu that resembles a teddy bear, in a
house with a wonderful view of the mountains. You can find Michele on
the web at michelepaigeholmes.com and on Facebook and twitter.

Links for Michele Paige Holmes

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Related Posts:

Mar 252016
 

Product Details:

  • Title: Secrets of the King’s Daughter(A Book of Mormon Romance)
  • Author: Renae Weight Mackley
  • Genre: Historical Romance/Book of Mormon Time/Christian
  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Covenant Communications Inc (March 1, 2016)
  • FTC, FYI: I was given a review paperback copy in exchange for an honest review.
  • Reviewed by Sheila

Book Description:
It was a relationship designed to unite not two young people in love, but two powerful kingdoms. And for Princess Karlinah, eldest daughter of King Lamoni, her marriage to the haughty heir to the throne of Jersusalem has led to a life of fear and abuse. There seems to be no escape—until her husband is murdered and Karlinah is unexpectedly free to return to her father’s kingdom. She can begin again—but no one can ever know of the part she played in the prince’s demise . . . Karlinah’s relief is short-lived, for upon her return to the land of Ishmael, she is once again swept into her father’s plans for a politically powerful marriage. Then the arrival of a young missionary in her father’s court changes everything: her family is converted to a new religion, and Karlinah is free to choose her path. Yet she is not so easily convinced by the words of Ammon—especially when repentance means confessing her crime. But as her faith grows and a young stone artisan captures her heart, Karlinah realizes that she must face the consequences of her past in order to move forward with her future.

My Review:
 I love to read books where stories from scriptures are brought to life. Secrets of a King’s Daughter does a marvelous job of bringing to life the stories of Lamanite King Lamoni, and Ammon, a Nephite, who is on a mission to convert these people to God.

The Princess Karlinah’s story is where the novel starts. Her new husband, a prince in a neighboring kingdom has been murdered in his sleep. All we know is that somehow Karlinah is involved, but her secret is not divulged for a very long time. Karlinah returns to her family where she soon finds herself betrothed again now to the wicked priest Japethihah. He’s so well written as a scummy and power hungry man that he made my skin crawl. Karlinah is not happy with her father’s choice, but she hopes that he will not be abusive as her first husband was to her.

I always find it amazing how a writer can weave a scriptural story in with made- up characters and make it so believable. Renae does this so well. I was immediately caught up in this story and the mystery and intrigue that was there. This book is a wonderful combination of action, suspense and romance. The conversion of King Lamoni and his wife was beautifully done as if I was reading the scriptures. Of course there was some liberty taken in dialogue and other happenings to enhance the overall story and plot. Those not familiar with The Book of Mormon will still be able to read this story and be pulled into the stories told from several different POV’s. I liked how each of the stories were seamlessly interwoven, so nothing seemed choppy, but knitted together to make the overall story flow. I’m so impressed that this is the author’s first published book. The writing is so well done and there is a very polished feel while reading this novel.

There are many messages that readers will take away from reading this book such as having hope, showing faith in unknown things,seeking forgiveness and accepting that one can repent and truly be forgiven. My teen daughter who usually shy’s away from anything not fantasy, declared she wanted to read this next.

I recommend this book to those who love historical fiction, romance, action and political intrigue. This book is also for those wanting a novel which brings stories from The Book of Mormon into a fictional setting and teaches about gospel principles in an interesting and non-preachy way. I can’t wait to read book two in this series.

****Warnings:This book has some violence with sword fighting, some mild gore and dead bodies in the aftermath of battle. There is no profanity or sex. ****

 Meet author Renae Weight Mackley:

Renae Weight Mackley has lived in California and Utah, raised six children, and is thrilled to be in the grandmother stage. She knows that living in the world only gets harder with time. Her writing–from non-fiction to romance–reflects ways to shine through the darkness.

A stay-at-home mom for many years, Mackley invaded her children’s lives at school by becoming a K-12 substitute teacher for thirteen years. She found further fulfillment through creating music, sewing, and good home cooking, until rekindling her love of creative writing. After tasting two first place wins for the first chapter of Secrets of the King’s Daughter, she hungered to keep writing. Sometimes it’s hard to stop for dinner or bike rides with hubby.

Mackley graduated from Brigham Young University with a BS degree in Clothing and Textiles. She is a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

-Author’s Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/RenaeWMackley/
-Author’s Blog: renaeswritespot.blogspot.com/

TOUR SCHEDULE
*March 21st:
http://mybookaday.blogspot.com/
http://www.rockinbookreviews.com/

*March 25th:

Related Posts:

Mar 182016
 
if we were a movie

Product Details

  • Title: If We Were a Movie (Power of the Matchmaker series #3)
  • Author: Kelly Oram
  • Paperback: 372 pages
  • Genre: New Adult Romantic Comedy
  • Publisher: Bluefields (March 1, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0996638857
  • FTC, FYI: I received a review e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
Book Details:
If We Were a Movie by Kelly Oram (Power of the Matchmaker #3)
Music meets Movies in this sweet college romance from the bestselling author of Cinder and Ella. NYU freshman Nate Anderson is a triplet who is desperate to escape his wild and crazy brothers. After they screw things up for him one too many times, Nate flees his housing situation and takes the first available room for rent as far from his brothers as he can get. Enter his new roommate Jordan–a quirky LA girl who believes that everything in life has already been done in the movies. In this heartfelt tale of love, friendship and family, Nate learns how to deal with his new adult life using Hollywood films as a guide.

amazonbarnes and noble

kobo

My Review:
 If We Were a Movie is the third installment in the Power of the Matchmaker Series. This is the series where Pearl, the Chinese Matchmaker we met in the novella I reviewed earlier this year, goes around the country bringing people together with her matchmaking magic.
This novel is different from the others I’ve read so far. Here we have two college students in New York City who are thrown together by strange circumstances. This novel is fun with clever dialogue. The first very surprising fact of this book is the story is told from the perspective of the main Male lead character, Nate. It took me just a bit to realize this, but it made this book very unique to hear this story told from a male. Nate is a very talented music major going to school on a full ride scholarship. He along with his other triplet brothers room together in a small dorm room, but his wild brothers are driving him crazy with their frat boy antics. We also meet Jordan, the person looking for a roommate and Pearl sends Nate to her to help him get away from his brothers and his controlling girlfriend.
Of course the fun starts when Jordan and Nate end up as roommates and become great friends right away. This does not go over well with Nate’s long time girlfriend, Sophie who doesn’t like the idea of Nate’s new female roommate. Nate and Sophie are going through a hard patch of disagreements about life and their future together.
I loved Jordan, a film major, who grew up in a wealthy family, but never felt much love from them. She is bright, positive and very funny. Both of their lives are changed from their friendship. This story is fun with all of the movie quotes that Jordan says and relates all of them to their lives. This was one of my favorite things in the novel. Soon Nate realizes that Jordan accepts him for who he is and supports him in his goals and dreams.
The supporting characters, Nate’s brothers, Jordan’s co-worker and Nate’s father were all wonderful and brought to life in such dynamic ways. They added so much to the story with their bold and colorful personalities and Nate’s father’s love and support for Nate and Jordan. Sophie was the villain in the story, set up to be disliked, and she did everything under the sun to be unlikable. I didn’t like how bossy and controlling she was towards Nate. She claimed to love him, but wanted to change everything about him. This is an enlightening concept for any young person to read about. Many things happen, but I will tell you there is a happy ending for readers.
I liked this book and think it was a great addition to the Power of the Matchmaker series. Older teens and adults will enjoy reading this New Adult novel.
***Warnings: Underage drinking and partying, mild cussing, implied unmarried sex with no details and kissing.***

What readers just like you are saying about If We Were a Movie:

“WOW! This book is great! The concept is so inventive, and the writing is brilliant.”

“I thought Cinder & Ella jerked with my emotions too much but this one might have it beat.”

“I finished reading If We Were a Movie yesterday. I loved it! I fell hard for Nate. Jordan was amazing! And Pearl’s timing was perfect! ”

“Amazing concept with movies as chapters, and fantastic storyline.” “I loved this story and was humming along to the songs from the book whilst reading. I can see this book becoming the movie it was written to be.” “If We Were a Movie made me want to binge watch movies, listen to old playlists and re-read it all at once.”

TEASER: 

“So this is what a Pearl-approved guy looks like.” She shook her head once and cracked a smile. “She’s got good taste, I’ll give her that. You’re an odd mix of sexy and adorable. Don’t see that often.”

I was a little taken aback by the compliment, if that’s even what it was. She may have just been stating what she considered to be fact. She laughed at my surprise and held out her hand to me. “Nice to meet you. I’m Jordan Kramer.”

I’d been afraid of that. “You’re a girl.”

Jordan laughed. “That’s what it says on my birth certificate, but I’m really glad you were able to figure it out without needing to read it.”

Nope. I definitely didn’t need that.

 TEASER:

I handed Jordan the electric guitar that I’ve had since I was twelve, and laughed when her eyes got really big. “You play the electric guitar, too?” “Music major,” I teased, picking up my keyboard. “I play this, too. A little. And the bass guitar.” “Awesome.” She examined the electric guitar with awe. “Why do you seem so surprised?” She looked at me as if the answer to that question should be obvious. “Hello. Have you met yourself? You with an acoustic guitar singing soft songs around a campfire or in a coffee house makes perfect sense. But I can’t picture you up on a stage, jamming on your electric guitar like a rock star.” She studied me a moment, then shook her head. “You’ll have to play for me, or I’m not going to believe it.”

 

Meet Author Kelly Oram:

Kelly Oram wrote her first novel at age fifteen–a fan fiction about her favorite music group, The Backstreet Boys, for which her family and friends still tease her. She’s obsessed with reading, talks way too much, and likes to eat frosting by the spoonful. She lives outside of Phoenix, Arizona with her husband, four children, and her cat, Mr. Darcy.

 

Don’t miss the latest news from Kelly Oram! Sign up for her newsletter to receive e-mail notifications for all of her new releases, events, sales, & giveaways. This is a monthly newsletter often with exclusive giveaways and freebies from some of her favorite authors.

Newsletter

Giveaway

Signed copies of V is for Virgin & A is for Abstinence (1 winner, 2 books)

Open Internationally

Ends 3/18/16

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Related Posts:

Mar 172016
 

Solstice20387343 Product Details

  • Title: Solstice
  • Author: Jane Redd
  • Series: Solstice
  • Paperback: 294 pages
  • Publisher: Mirror Press (March 1, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1941145698
  • FTC, FYI:  I received a review copy in exchange for an honest review.
  • Reviewed: by Sheila

Book Details 
There are four ways to get Banished from the last surviving city on earth: 1. Cut out your emotion tracker, 2. Join a religious cult, 3. Create a rebellion against the Legislature, 4. Fall in love.

Jezebel James does all four.

Jez is on the fast-track to becoming a brilliant scientist, with one goal—save her city f

rom total extinction. But the more Jez learns about the price of a fresh beginning, the more she realizes that carrying out the plan will lead to few survivors, and among the dead will be those she cares about the most.

My Review
This Kindle Scout winner, is a YA Dystopian novel. The world seemed different from some of the other Dystopian worlds I’ve read about before which made it so compelling. It took several chapters in order to figure out what was happening in the story. More details about the world unfolded the longer you read. I kind of wished that things had happened a bit faster than they did. I was so impatient to find out why her roommate Chalice had been taken away by the government.

The main character Jezebel, Jez, was interesting and I liked her a lot. The other character I really liked was Rueben. There is somewhat of a love triangle in the book between Jez, Rueben and Sol. I liked Rueben from the first, but I can’t say the same thing about Sol. I think I felt like Jez couldn’t really trust Sol and it always made me nervous when Jez interacted with him. I felt nervous the whole book in fact because you never knew who to trust and who could possibly turn in people to the governing legislature. There were so many times I thought for sure Jez was a goner. The angst kept the plot moving along as you could feel the tension rise in Jez and her friends as they made choices that could seriously affect their lives and freedom.

This novel has many thought-provoking ideas about religion, falling in love and showing feelings which are all illegal in this world. It was refreshing to read a novel that had action, without a lot of violence that is so prevalent in so many novels. The ending has somewhat of a cliffhanger with a nice surprise at the end. This book is perfect for lovers of YA Dystopian stories and those wanting to discover a new world to get excited about.
Jane Redd Books on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JaneReddBooks/
 
Purchase Solstice Here:Amazon buy link
 
 
Heather’s website http://www.hbmoore.com/
 
***Tour Schedule***

Related Posts:

Mar 112016
 

Deliverance- The Moses Chronicles28670421 Product Details:

  • Title: Deliverance
  • Author: H.B. Moore
  • Series: Moses Chronicles Book #2
  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Covenant Communications, Inc. (March 1, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1680479350
  • FTC, FYI: I received a review e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
  • Reviewed by Sheila

Book Details: 
Experience the life of Moses as never before, following his journey from fugitive of Egypt to prophet of God. In this exhilarating follow-up to H.B. Moore’s biblical drama The Moses Chronicles: Bondage, the account of Moses’s flight from Egypt continues. Moses’s life as he knew it is over. He has chosen to stand for his beliefs at the cost of being cast out of his royal home and family. He is free of the wickedness of Egypt, but peace is not to be found, for Moses is as much an aimless wanderer as those in the nomadic tribe he encounters in the wilderness.

Exhausted by long weeks of travel, he nevertheless jumps to action when he observes a group of young women accosted by a band of Badrayan men at a communal well. These lovely daughters of Jethro are grateful for his help, and their Midianite tribe welcomes Moses with open arms. As he learns the ways of the Midianites, his kinship with Jethro grows—as does his admiration of one of Jethro’s daughters, Zipporah. But when Moses suddenly receives a burning call to free the very people he has long oppressed, will he have the courage to return to the land from which he has been exiled?

My Review:
I’ve always been fascinated by the prophet Moses ever since the first time I saw the movie The Ten Commandments as a small child. I’ve read about this man in the Bible and studied about his life. It wasn’t until I read book one in The Moses Chronicles that I felt I truly knew who this man was. Author H.B. Moore has a way of bringing historical characters to life that make you feel like you are reading a biography. I loved reading Book #1 Bondage about the beginning of Moses’s life and him growing up in Egypt along side Ramses. 

This second book starts as Moses has left Egypt after killing an Egyptian taskmaster.You are immediately swept away to the wilderness where Moses meets Zipporah and her sisters at a watering well. He saves them from some Badrayen men trying to steal their sheep.The details are so vivid you can almost feel the heat and the strong winds stirring the sand in the desert. One thing I’ve always loved about this author is how great she is with descriptive writing. Whether it’s the palace of a Pharaoh or in the Midianite tents in the desert, every scene is written with a unique power and appeal that evokes sights, smells, sounds, textures, and tastes as if you were there. 

Along with Moses’s journey as he finds his place in the world, away from the luxuries of Egypt, there is also a wonderful love story. We as readers get to experience the growing attraction and love between Moses and the beautiful Midianite woman Zipporah. I loved both of these characters equally. They were meant to be together as you easily see how well they complement each other and would do anything for the other, even give their own lives.

The last chapter of the book was a very emotional one for me as Moses is back in Egypt with his Hebrew family. The reunion of the son with his birth family was very moving. I got chills though when Moses was presented before the Elders of Israel and they realize that a long awaited prophet has finally come to free them. This second book was excellent and read very quickly, and leads up to the final book in the trilogy called Exodus. If it’s as great as the first two, then I can’t wait to read the concluding book about the life of the courageous prophet Moses. 

-Deliverance gets 5 stars from me!!!

***Warnings: Some violence as the nomadic tribes fight each other, but nothing graphic. No swearing or sexual content. ***

Excerpt from Deliverance:

                  Moses’s bruises had long since faded from deep purple to mottled blue, and finally to a pale yellow like the sand that stretched beneath his feet. Yet the scars still remained, running along his forearms and chest, red against the ever-deepening color of his skin.

            But Moses didn’t need scars or bruises to remind him of his final days in the land of Egypt. They were etched deeply into his heart. Scars of killing the Egyptian taskmaster. Scars of sneaking back into the palace that had been his home for as long as he could remember. Scars of listening to the woman he’d called “Mother” his entire life tell him he wasn’t her child.

            Scars of learning that he’d been born a Hebrew slave, then wrapped and hidden away in a woven basket, and pushed into the River Nile . . . to meet his fate.

            His life had been left in the river god’s hands, or was it the god Amun? Or perhaps the Hebrew god had orchestrated Moses’s life so that he did not meet the fate of all other male infants born in the Hebrew settlements and ordered dead by Pharaoh.

            Moses exhaled and pushed forward across the desolate terrain. Nearly a moon had passed since he’d crossed into the wilderness, leaving behind everything he knew, and leaving behind questions that he could never answer. He kept his focus on the rocky outcrop of the hill ahead of him as the merciless sun baked his skin. Hoping to find shade beneath an overhang, or better yet, a cool, dry cave, Moses ignored the fierce thirst battling in his throat and the labored breaths expelling from his chest.

            His scalp itched and burned from the fierce sun and the new growth of hair. His head had been shaved his entire life, so he wasn’t used to hair on his head. He tried to sleep through the days and travel only at night, but he’d soon changed that tactic. Too many snakes and scorpions were out in the dark, and the moon wasn’t always a reliable guide.

            When Moses reached the rocky outcrop, he nearly collapsed underneath a ledge that jutted out from above. The shade wasn’t much cooler than the hot sand surrounding him, but at least the deadly rays of the sun were blocked.

            He opened his goatskin satchel and pulled out the few remaining dates. He chewed slowly, letting the sweet, grainy taste fill his senses, not knowing when he might find another date grove in this desolation. Or another well holding water, for that matter.

            Closing his eyes, Moses leaned his head against the rough stone and inhaled. Hot, dusty air surrounded him, and he thought of the fertile land surrounding the River Nile, where he’d spent his entire life. A life of privilege, of wealth, of esteem. A life that was now gone.

            Moses hadn’t realized he’d dozed until a rock skittered next to his feet. His eyes flew open and he looked up, afraid that the ledge above him was crumbling. Instead, a pair of bare feet, calloused and hardened with years of desert walking, dangled over the rock. Moses pulled his legs up and scooted back, not wanting to be seen; then the feet lowered, and suddenly a man with a coarsely woven tunic dropped to the ground. His hair was a long mass of matted curls, and his eyes were like piercing black daggers.

            “Who are you?” the man demanded in a language that resembled Egyptian but was more guttural. The man’s hand gripped a staff, his knuckles white with tension.

            Moses raised his hands to show that he didn’t hold a dagger or any other weapon. “I am just a stranger passing through. I’m here in peace.” He spoke slowly, keeping his hands raised.

            The man’s eyes narrowed, and Moses could practically feel him taking in the whole of Moses’s appearance. He’d been in the desert for three weeks, yet his dirty kilt was still finer than this nomad’s. And there was no comparing the fine leather of his sandals with the nomad’s bare feet.

            The man’s eyes were on Moses’s satchel, and his breath stalled as he realized what the man was about to do. Although the small gold statues his mother had sent with him were at the bottom of the satchel with his elegant robe on top to hide them, that wouldn’t be nearly enough protection to deter a determined nomad.

            “Stand up,” the man commanded in his harsh language.

Meet Author: H.B. Moore:  heathermoore

H.B. Moore is the USA Today bestselling and award-winning author of more than a dozen historical novels set in ancient Arabia and Mesoamerica. She attended the Cairo American College in Egypt and the Anglican International School in Jerusalem, and received her bachelor of science degree from Brigham Young University. She writes historical thrillers under the pen name H.B. Moore, and romance and women’s fiction under the name Heather B. Moore. It can be confusing, so her kids just call her Mom. 

Join H.B. Moore’s newsletter list for updates at hbmoore.com/contact.
 Blog: http://mywriterslair.blogspot.com
Website: www.hbmoore.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/heatherbmoore

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/37783537691/

Related Posts: