Jul 062015
 

25482374 Veils and Vengeance (A Wedding Planner Mystery #2)

Author: Rachelle J. Christensen

Publisher: Peachwood Press

Published: July 7th, 2015

ISBN13: 9780692462331

Paperback: 347 pages

FTC FYI: Received an ebook copy in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

When wedding planner, Adrielle Pyper, goes to Hawaii to orchestrate a destination wedding, she isn’t prepared for what she finds.

After the trauma of her previous event, the beautiful isle of Kauai is the perfect place for Adri to unwind and do what she does best – plan. She even lets herself indulge in the attention of the groom’s handsome brother. But just when everything seems to be perfect, an afternoon snorkeling trip turns to murder when Adri discovers the body of a young woman.

Shaken, but unable to let it go, Adri’s sleuthing leads her into more danger than she could imagine. When a number of “accidents” threaten her own life, it soon becomes apparent that someone will do anything to keep Adri from interfering with their vengeance.
For great craft tips, visit Adri’s website,www.mashedpotatoesandcrafts.com.

My Review

I love a great mystery that keeps my interest and keeps the pages turning.  This book does all that very well.  I really enjoyed the first book in the Wedding Planner Mysteries: Diamond Rings are Deadly Things, so I knew I was going to jump right back into another story for Adri.  I loved the Hawaiian setting, that was a character on its own.  Adri is a fabulous character.  Her attention to detail and how she organized she is is entertaining to read.  I enjoyed how Adri had attention from two men.  Both were great for her, but one I liked a little bit better.  As the story progressed, I enjoyed where the author went with the mystery, doing a perfect job of planting the right amount of seeds to try to throw me off the trail of who the killer was.

4 out of 5 stars.  I hope Rachelle will do more books in this series!

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Facebook  / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Related Posts:

Jun 172015
 

25334969 Kisses in the Rain

Author: Krista Lynne Jensen

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: June 2015

ISBN13: 978-1-68047-239-4

Paperback: 284 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

Georgie Tate is a survivor. She’s survived an abusive relationship. She’s survived the car accident that took the life of her controlling fiance. Now she just needs to survive the memories that haunt her. Escaping to her aunts’ cozy home on a tiny island outside of Seattle, Georgie finds just the change of pace she needs to pick up the pieces of her life. Taking a job at a local seafood restaurant is the first step in reclaiming her sense of self, but she is completely unprepared for the battle that awaits her there.

Jace Lowe has loved and lost, and he’s determined that it will never happen again. Hardened by heartbreak, he stays focused on his work as sous chef at one of the island’s top seafood restaurants. When beautiful Georgie takes her place on the restaurant staff, Jace is resolved to keep her at arm’s length, and his downright rudeness her first week goes a long way in achieving that goal. Georgie, on the other hand, doesn’t want anything to do with Jace anyway and prickles against his abrasive behavior. As the combative pair comes together on a joint project for the restaurant, they find their distaste for one another dwindling. the connection is undeniable–and it terrifies them both. Can two people jaded by the past be softened by the promise of once-in-a-lifetime love, or is this just another recipe for disaster?

My Review

WOW!  This book is beautifully written.  Each page is a treasure.  Many of the characters have issues they are dealing with, and the way Krista has written each character is perfect.  Georgie is recovering from an accident that took her memory, and claimed the life of her fiance.  Jace is also recovering from heartbreak of his own.  I loved the gradual improvement of them both and how they realize what they need.  The aunts were a favorite and Uncle Dar as well.  In Kisses in the Rain, there is heartache and pain, but also triumph and happiness.  I have read some of the other reviews of this book, and each say close to the same thing, the story is so real.  It’s funny, because that is the exact word I would use.   I loved the restaurant scenes.  It was where Jace and Georgie were in their elements, but I also loved it when they were getting to know each other away from work.  I also loved the setting.  This book takes place in a beautiful area, which is a character all its own.

5 out of 5 stars.  I have read most of Krista’s books, and I really think this is my favorite so far.  Very well done.

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Tour Schedule

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Related Posts:

Jun 102015
 

25264002 Playing for Keeps

Author: Ranee S. Clark

Published: June 1st, 2015

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Paperback: 228 pages

ISBN13: 978-1-62108-850-9

FTC FYI: I received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

Football-loving TyAnne Daws has long admired BYU’s star quarterback from afar. This semester, she’s determined to step away from the sidelines and she has the perfect game plan for winning the heart of Anthony Rocket Rogers. When some smart moves land her in one of his classes, she finds herself in the perfect position to make her play. But as she gets to know the real Anthony, away from the lights of the stadium, Ty realizes that this is no game; she’s falling in love . . .
Anthony takes full advantage of his all-star status, holding girls at arm’s length for one reason: it keeps him from repeating the same mistakes that once led to a devastating heartbreak. When he meets Ty, his assumption that she’s just another pretty face is quickly proven wrong. Though he’s completely drawn in by this sweet young woman, her intriguing mix of amusing football know-how, and her quiet selflessness, he will not let himself fall in love. But when faced with the reality of losing the woman he’s come to care for despite himself, Anthony’s resolve is tested. It’s getting harder to keep his head in the game when his heart’s on the line.

My Review

Growing up my dad refereed college football, and now he does the instant replay for the Big 12, so football has always been a huge part of my life.  I honestly think that is why I liked this book so much, I already had an appreciation for the game, but of course the book itself that had me eagerly turning pages.  Playing for Keeps is highly enjoyable.  Ty is an amazing girl who I liked from the first page.  I loved how she was herself from the start, and even though she took friendly advice from her friend, she still kept her head.  Ty is the type of girl that shines kindness and radiance, and I loved her relationship with her brothers.  Anthony was a mystery to me at first, don’t get me wrong, I loved when he was around and how he reacted to Ty.  Especially how he would react to how other guys reacted to Ty.  I really enjoyed the point of view switches with Anthony and Ty.  It was the perfect way to get to know Anthony and his friends (who I loved too.)   I loved how Anthony was with them, and especially his sister and family.  There were so many fun moments in this book.  It is full of amazing kisses, humor, and kindness.  GO TEAM!

5 out of 5 stars.  I can’t wait for more from this author!  I hear she is working on follow up stories for the other guys in this book.  Yay!

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Facebook / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Seagull Book / Deseret Book

Blog Tour Schedule

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Related Posts:

Jun 042015
 

23522181 My Fairly Dangerous Godmother

Author: Janette Rallison

Publisher: Rally Point Press

Published: May, 2015

ISBN13: 9780990675723

Paperback: 396 pages

FTC FYI: Received a PDF copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

Some people bomb auditions. Sadie Ramirez throws up during her tryouts on TV show America’s Top Talent. Her performance is so bad, it earns her a fairy godmother through the Magical Alliance’s Pitiful Damsel Outreach Program. Enter Chrysanthemum Everstar: a gum-chewing, cell phone-carrying, high heel wearing fairy godmother in training. She misinterprets Sadie’s wishes and sends her back in time to be a part of The Little Mermaid story and then makes her one of the twelve dancing princesses. Wishes are permanent, and if Sadie wants to get back to her home, she’ll have to strike a magical bargain–one that involves stealing a goblet from a powerful fairy queen.

My Review

I absolutely love how clever Janette’s writing is.  She is a master.  Each line is expertly written, and funny.  I have been a fan of this series for a long time, and I was so excited to read this book!

I loved this book, it was so fun.  I absolutely love Chrissy and her attempts to help her charges with wishing for a way out of their problems.  Poor Sadie.  Poor, poor Sadie.  This poor girl has THE worst audition ever and gets stuck in Chrissy’s version of “help”.  Along the way she meets Donovan, who is trapped in the fairytale too.  I enjoyed how we gradually got to know him and learn his story.  (I loved him, by the way.)  I liked the twist of Sadie and Donovan getting involved in stealing back a goblet from the fairy queen, and in doing so, get to know each other.  I really enjoyed the scenes in the fairy queen’s kingdom.  Sadie’s growth as a character was fun to watch and I loved the ending.

4 out of 5 stars.  Like any book of Janette’s, there is lots of humor, fun, and romance.  With how the book ends, it seems there will be another, which makes me happy!

Author Links

Goodreads / Website / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Related Posts:

Jun 032015
 

25416560 The Sheik’s Ruby

Author: Jennifer Moore

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Published: May 8th, 2015

ASIN: A00VU8L9VQ

Kindle edition: 248 pages

FTC FYI: Received a Kindle copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

Shelby wants to break away from the mold of her small town and make a name for herself in the big-city journalism world. While skiing, she meets mysterious stranger Hakim who is actually the prince of the Middle Eastern kingdom of Khali-dar.

When his enemies learn of Hakim’s connection to an American girl, they target Shelby. Fleeing to the safety of Khali-dar, Shelby falls deeper in love not only with the prince, but with his country. As she struggles to survive terrorist attacks, withstand the Sheik’s prejudice, and find her place in a world she doesn’t understand, she must choose which life she is willing to sacrifice—the comfortable one she has worked so hard to create, or the one with the man she loves.

My Review

Oh my goodness, this book is so much fun.  This was the first book that Jennifer wrote, and it is up there as one of my favorites of hers.  She is such a talented author and has such a wonderful variety of style in her writing.  I loved Shelby instantly.  She is a remarkable character.  I loved how we knew Hakim’s secret early on as we witnessed his inner struggle with it.  Hakim is a fabulous character too.  I enjoyed how Jennifer took care in writing her main characters so well, and also her supporting characters.  Nasir, Hakim’s bodyguard, was a silent but strong character, and Shelby’s mother was a doll.  I loved the jump from Culver Springs (which reminded me of my husband’s hometown) to Khali-dar and the development of Shelby and Hakim’s relationship.  Shelby was such a strong character and won the heart of everyone she came in contact with.  I love the story behind the title too and how it all ties together at the end.

4 out of 5 stars.  Another strong book from Jennifer.  I will read anything this lady writes.

Author Links

Amazon Page / Twitter / Website / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

 

 

 

Related Posts:

May 202015
 

25490708 The Moses Chronicles: Bondage (Volume 1)

Author: H. B. Moore

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: May 2015

ISBN13: 978-1-68047-166-3

Paperback: 236 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

Moses has always felt like an outsider in his powerful Egyptian family, even though his close relationship with Ramses, the prince of Egypt, and their cousin Pentu keeps him entwined in the dealings of royalty. But when their youthful antics get them in trouble, the Pharaoh decides it’s time for all three of them to grow up and own their respective responsibilities. Now betrothed to a woman he cares nothing for, Moses wonders where his life is headed.

Miriam, a Hebrew slave, lives with a secret she cannot share with anyone. And though it has been eighteen years since she saved her baby brother, she is constantly getting in trouble for spying on him. In a desperate attempt to control Miriam, her older brother, Aaron, and her father look to find her a husband, something Miriam has never been interested in—until Caleb, a young, handsome man, confesses his feelings for her and asks her father for her hand in marriage.

When Libya advances on Egypt, Moses and Miriam are suddenly thrown together as the Egyptian royals and soldiers flee. Hebrew slaves are forced to defend the kingdom, and Miriam and Caleb are enlisted under Moses’s direction. Moses quickly sees there is more to this downtrodden people than what he’s been taught. When he witnesses the atrocities enacted against the slaves, he realizes he must leave—he must find out who he really is.

A gripping account of the events that lead to Moses’s flight into the wilderness, The Moses Chronicles: Bondage will take you back to a rich period of history replete with scandal, strife, love, and hope as God prepares a prophet to lead His chosen people.

My Review

As with any of Heather’s books, the characters in The Moses Chronicles: Bondage are brought to live with her amazing storytelling and writing.  I loved this fictional account of Moses and Miriam.  I appreciated the point of view changes between Moses, Miriam, and Bithiah.  Miriam was an especially enjoyable character.  She was a very strong, and courageous woman in hard times.  My heart broke for her with all she endured.  Another aspect I enjoyed was Miriam’s love for the brother she didn’t know.  Heather’s Moses was also a strong character that was honorable and wise.  This book is very hard to put down and reads quickly.  There is so much to this book that will keep you turning pages.  For me, it was the characters and the beautiful, gripping story.  I also enjoyed the other characters, Caleb and Bithiah especially.

5 out of 5 stars.  I can’t wait for Deliverance, the next volume in the series.

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Tour Schedule

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Related Posts: