Jan 232015
 

24175524 Betrayed

Author: Ronda Gibb Hinrichsen

Published: January 2015

Publisher: Covenant

ISBN13: 978-1-62108-481-5

Paperback: 291 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

1851: Niagara Falls, New York The evidence has been well hidden—the Thayers were confident that it was safe from the clutches of the ruthless Murphy Gang. But it has all been in vain. The lawless group is closing in on the family homestead, and seven-year-old Penny is given only one instruction: Run. After two long years eagerly anticipating her fiancé’s return, twenty-year-old Julia Barrett is ready to make a fresh start with Adam Wolcott—even if it means putting her dream of traveling west with the Mormons on hold. But when Adam’s return is overshadowed by the unexpected arrival of a young orphan girl in desperate need of help, Julia is drawn into a dangerous mystery that will threaten all she holds dear. Charged with the protection of little Penny, Julia quickly finds herself relying on the help of Tom Harrison, an endearing young man who has long admired her from afar. Torn between two suitors, Julia soon uncovers a shocking trail of corruption and deceit—a discovery that pulls her inescapably into the race to locate telling evidence that Penny’s family gave their lives to protect . . .

My Review

Oh my goodness this book was so good!  I was on pins and needles the whole time.  Betrayed starts off strong and barely gives you time to catch your breath until the last page.  Ronda creates a perfect web of secrets and with every page there was something new to worry about.  Just when I thought I had it all figured out, BAM!  Another exciting twist.  Julia was amazing and I really, really liked Tom.  Adam, well, he had issues.  Sometimes I would be yelling in my head at him (and Julia) while I was reading.  I loved the setting of Niagara Falls and this cover is so beautiful.  What was really intriguing was the Underground Railroad twist.  I loved how involved Julia and her family were in protecting others.  Who stole the show for me was Penny.  She was so brave and had to endure so much.  I thought the ending was fantastic and bittersweet at the same time.

5 out of 5 stars.  I can’t wait for more from this author.

Author Links

Goodreads / Website Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

betrayed blog tour banner a Rafflecopter giveaway

Related Posts:

Jan 212015
 

22616865 Keeping Kate

Author: Lauren Winder Farnsworth

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: January 13th, 2015

ISBN13: 9781462115631

Paperback: 320 pages

FTC FYI: Received a PDF copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Summary

“Don’t you love me, Kate? Has everything you ever felt for me really disappeared in less than ten minutes?”

“I do love you,” I said woodenly. “I always will. But you’ll never hear it from me again.”

Kate Evans has never had a real family—and she’s never dreamed of falling in love. But when she gets a job taking care of a little girl on a lonely Utah ranch, Kate’s determined to make a life for herself.

Right up until the moment she meets her irritable employer . . .

Sparks fly in this LDS twist on the classic Jane Eyre. Equal parts suspenseful, entertaining, and romantic, it’s an addicting read that’s sure to capture your heart.

My Review

Confession.  I have never read Jane Eyre.  I know, I know, you can throw your arrows now.  LOL!  I did, however, really enjoy this retelling of Jane Eyre.  Kate has had a very sad life, but I loved that she didn’t let it break her spirit and her faith in her Heavenly Father.  I was also glad that the author didn’t let that back story be the whole focus of the book.  The glimpses into her life, told by Kate to others, was perfect.  I thought Kate was amazing.  A little stubborn at times, but that is what made her enduring.  Kate arrives in Oakley (which had me dying since my grandparents have a cabin up there that we still go to) and is right away taken with Thorne Field, not so much taken with Tyler.  I loved the progression in their relationship and especially how she was able show him how much he really did love Addie too.  Of course, nothing in life goes how you plan and I enjoyed the turn the story makes with some fun characters and a new life.  I did wonder about one character, but happy she was no longer in the picture.  Tyler also grew on me when he stopped being a stinker and I was thrilled with the end result of the book!

4 out of 5 stars.  I look forward to more books from this debut author.

About the Author

Lauren Winder Farnsworth was born and raised in Salt Lake City, Utah. She is an avid reader, a chocolate enthusiast, a musicophile and a CPA—which, yes, is somewhat unusual for a novelist, but don’t let that freak you out. She obtained bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accounting from the University of Utah, went to work as an auditor of various financial statements, and then decided that writing down the stories swimming in her head sounded like a good creative outlet on the side. Having obtained two degrees from the same institution has made Lauren somewhat of a compound collegiate fan, and the only entity that holds more of her heart than the University of Utah is her husband, Bryan. Lauren currently lives in South Jordan, Utah, where she spends entirely too much time watching Gilmore Girls and looking for excuses not to clean.

Website / Twitter / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Cedar Fort

Blog Tour Stops

Keeping-Kate-blog-tour2

Related Posts:

Jan 142015
 

24127387 Love Unexpected: A Storybook Romance

Authors: Melanie Jacobson, Jennifer K. Clark, Julie Daines

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: January 1st, 2015

ISBN: 978-1-62108-934-6

Paperback: 162 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

They say a rose by any other name would smell as sweet, but as mistaken identities abound, three heroines will put this age-old adage to the test! Showcasing a trio of LDS fiction’s finest authors, Love Unexpected: A Storybook Romance is a heartwarming collection of short stories that begs the question: can true love really conquer all?

Storybook Romance by Melanie Jacobson —New York City book editor Ellie Hanover has discovered a groundbreaking manuscript that may be just what she needs to save her job. But when her anonymous correspondence with the author begins to develop into more than a professional relationship, Ellie is left wondering if her real find is actually Mr. Right.

He Loves Me Not by Jennifer K. Clark —When Kenedee spies her boss leaving flowers on her desk, she’s swept into a whirlwind of infatuation. If only he didn’t have a girlfriend . . . Undeterred, the young woman enlists in the scheme her employer’s brother has put in motion for the company’s sake in hopes that she can win over the man of her dreams. But even foolproof plans can go awry.

Fools of Us All by Julie Daines —The course of true love is never smooth, as Jane discovers when a case of mistaken identity results in a date with the man she’s admired from afar for years. But she knows all too well that masquerading as her twin sister can only go on for so long before the truth comes out.

My Review

I very much enjoyed these three romance novellas from these great authors.  I have read books from each of these ladies, so I was looking forward to these novellas.  Each were very well written.  Each read quickly and had fantastic characters.  I love and appreciate clean books that have great stories, and these novellas did not disappoint.  I especially liked the settings.  Storybook Romance was especially fun, seeing as how being an editor would be my dream job.  But, Ellie did not have my dream boss.  In He Loves Me Not, it would be very fun to live and work in Moab.  And in Fools of Us All, I actually felt really sorry for Jane.  I was pleased with how she finally makes a decision about one particular person in her life (and it wasn’t the cute doctor).  Jane was an amazing girl who takes care of her mother after the accident that killed her father.  This story was a little more deeper than the others, only because of what Jane has and had to endure.  Don’t get me wrong, there is plenty of romance and mistaken identities to go around!

4 out of 5 stars.

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book

For author links, please look at the author’s name at the top.

Blog tour schedule

Love unexpected banner a Rafflecopter giveaway

Related Posts:

Jan 132015
 

recipe-hacker_978-1-4621-1539-6 The Recipe Hacker: Comfort Foods Without Gluten, Dairy, Soy, Grain, or Cane Sugar

Author: Diana Keuilian

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: December 1st, 2014

ISBN: 978-1-4621-1539-6

Paperback: 230 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Summary

Break the recipe code for your favorite foods! Free of grains, gluten, dairy, cane sugar, and soy, The Recipe Hacker is a mouthwatering collection of your favorite comfort foods with a healthy twist. Learn to use easy ingredient substitutions to transform traditional dishes into real, healthy comfort food masterpieces, without sacrificing any of the flavor! Enjoy healthier, whole-food versions of Key Lime Pie, Crispy Orange Chicken, and Banana Pancakes. Dozens of recipes and delicious flavors will keep you coming back for more. Enjoy all the comfort foods you crave and keep your body (and skinny jeans) happy at the same time!

My Review

This recipe book is not only informative and helpful to those who need these recipes, it is also lovely to look at!  Each chapter is highlighted with a picture and each recipe has a picture also.  I appreciate recipe books with pictures, what a great way to sell your delicious recipe.  I have a nephew with severe food allergies, as well as a sister in law who can’t eat gluten, and I am excited to share this recipe book with them and give them some more healthy, but yummy options.

About the Author

Diana Keuilian is passionate about creating wholesome versions of your favorite foods. She removes the gluten, dairy, soy, grains and cane sugar from traditional comfort food recipes like cake, tacos, cookies, waffles, enchiladas and more. This hobby propelled her to start the popular blog, RealHealthyRecipes.com, where she shares hundreds of delicious recipes and mouthwatering photos. She lives in Southern California with her husband and two young children.

Visit Diane at Real Healthy Recipes and on Facebook 

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Cedar Fort

Blog-Tour-Banner-The-Recipe-Hacker

Related Posts:

  • No Related Posts
Jan 122015
 

22881031 A Timeless Romance Anthology: All Regency Collection

Authors: Anna Elliot, Sarah M. Eden, Carla Kelly, Josi S. Kilpack, Annette Lyon, Heather B. Moore

Publisher: Mirror Press

Published: January 5th, 2015

ASIN: B00RR8AJ72

ebook: 320 pages

FTC FYI: Received a Kindle copy in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Summary

Six Award-Winning Authors have contributed new stories to A Timeless Romance Anthology: All Regency Collection. Readers will love this collection of six regency romance novellas.

In THE WEDDING GIFT: A PRIDE AND PREJUDICE STORY, an enchanting novella by Anna Elliott, the story opens two weeks before Elizabeth Bennet’s wedding to Mr. Darcy. He has given her the perfect wedding gift, and now she must come up with one for him. But what do you give a man who has everything? Elizabeth soon discovers that the gift of love is more important than any one thing.

DREAM OF A GLORIOUS SEASON, a sweet novella by Sarah M. Eden, we meet Elizabeth Gillerford who envies her sister only one thing—that she’s been intended for Julian Broadwood since they were children. The trouble is that Elizabeth is hopelessly in love with Julian too. When Julian discovers that Elizabeth has been denied a Season because her older sister is yet unwed, he undertakes his own stealthy measures to introduce her to society, only to find himself falling in love with her himself.

In THE MENDER, a captivating story by Carla Kelly, Thankful Winnings takes a sea voyage with her cousin on the Ann Alexander, in a last adventure before she settles down to marry one of her beaus. Unexpectedly they come upon the aftermath of a fierce ship battle, and Thankful is commissioned to help in the place of an injured surgeon on one of the Royal Navy ships. Adam Farnsworth, surgeon, has been at sea for years. Tired of war, but devoted to his post, it takes a resourceful lady such as Thankful to give him the hope of love and help heal his own wounds, the ones that show and the ones that don’t.

In BEGIN AGAIN, a charming novella by Josi S. Kilpack, Regina Weathers gives up on marrying for love the day that Ross Martin walks out of her life. Now, fifteen years later, Ross shows up at a ball and thinks he can woo Regina. But she is set on her lonely path and stitched-up heart, no matter the excuse Ross gives for his years of silence and neglect. When Ross insists he wrote many letters during his military years, Regina discovers a secret long-since buried by her father, and the revelation might be enough to thaw the coldness of her heart.

In Annette Lyon’s endearing story, THE AFFAIR AT WILDEMOORE, Mrs. Ellen Stanhope escorts her three daughters to a ball. As her oldest flirts with a beau, Ellen is reminded of her courtship and early years of marriage with Anthony, before tragedy struck with the death of their infant son. The marriage has faded and dulled. Not until she sees Anthony dancing with a woman he courted years before does Ellen realize how much she misses him, still loves him, and yearns for him to yet feel the same way for her.

In the delightful novella, THE DUKE’S BROTHER, by Heather B. Moore, Mr. Gregory Clark is having an awful day, and it only gets worse when he’s ran over by … a woman. Mabel Russell reluctantly visits her sister in London for the Season, even though she’d rather stay in the country cataloging insects and aphids. When she runs into Gregory Clark, quite literally, she’s afraid to show any interest, especially since he’s a member of the dreaded ton. But getting to know Gregory becomes an unexpected delight.

My Review

Another perfect offering for the Timeless Romance Anthologies.  Each story was unique and very enjoyable.  I loved the romance, the language, the settings, and especially the characters in each novella, immensely.  I am finding more often that novellas are here to stay, especially with this series.  I am a huge TRA fan!  I loved knowing I will read a quick, enjoyable book from authors whose books I love.  I hadn’t read anything from Ms. Elliot before and I am excited to read more from her.  It was hard to pick a favorite in this series.  Each story had just the right amount of all things wonderful.  What I like most is the promise of a happy ending and the journey to it.

5 out of 5 stars.  Use the links on the author names up top for their websites.

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Related Posts:

Jan 062015
 

18398614 Beneath

Author: H.B. Moore

Publisher: StoneHouse Ink

Published: September 26th, 2013

ebook: 30 pages

ASIN: B00OL1HTGC

FTC FYI: Received a Kindle copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

Chalice Stratford’s hands won’t stop shaking, and not only is she required to give up her medical practice, but she’s forced to enter the witness protection program since the serial killer who brutally scarred her is still at large. Working in a museum in Bordeaux, France, the last thing she expects is to be abducted in a museum theft gone wrong. Omar Zagouri, the man behind the heist, is not who she expects, and Chalice soon learns he might be the one man who can put her demons to rest.

My Review

Beneath is a fantastic companion story to the amazing Finding Sheba.  This short story takes place before Finding Sheba, and gives us a glimpse of Omar.  I was immediately pulled into the story and was once again reminded what a fantastic character Omar is.  He’s enough to keep the pages turning and your heart pounding.  I loved how he took control of a situation that could have been even worse for Chalice.  She suffered a lot from someone else’s hand and couldn’t handle much more.  His take-charge attitude and sweet bedside manor are evidence to what a great character he is.  I loved how the author ended this story, it had me wanting more!  I love it when authors don’t necessarily tell you everything, and keep you on your toes.  Perfect way to draw the reader in and keep them reading.

Author Links 

Goodreads / Website / Twitter / Facebook

Purchase Links

Amazon

About the Author

Heather B. Moore is a USA Today bestselling author of more than a dozen historical novels and thrillers, written under pen name H.B. Moore. She writes women’s fiction, romance and inspirational non-fiction under Heather B. Moore. This can all be confusing, so her kids just call her Mom. Heather attended Cairo American College in Egypt, the Anglican School of Jerusalem in Israel, and earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Brigham Young University in Utah.

Alternate Goodreads Page: Heather B. Moore
Please join Heather’s email list at: http://hbmoore.com/contact/
Blog: http://mywriterslair.blogspot.com
Website: www.hbmoore.com
Twitter: @heatherbmoore
Facebook: Fans of H.B. Moore

Literary awards: 3-time Best of State Recipient for Best in Literary Arts, 3-time Whitney Award Winner, and 2-time Golden Quill Award Winner

Related Posts: