Jul 312015
 

25780699

Love on a Whim

Author: Aubrey Mace

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: July 15th, 2015

Paperback: 272 pages

ISBN13: 978-1-62108-621-5

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

Six months out of law school, Rachel Pearce is completely disillusioned by her job hunt. Despite pounding the pavement with her Ivy League degree in hand, her job prospects are no brighter than the day she graduated. Then in a chance meeting with a former acquaintance, eccentric young millionaire Henry Walker, Rachel finds an unexpected opportunity: Henry is looking for a personal secretary. Swallowing her pride, Rachel sets aside her law firm aspirations for what she envisions as secretarial work—mountains of paperwork and filing. But when she finds her most demanding duty to be daily cookie runs for her new boss, she’s baffled by her unconventional job responsibilities.

As she’s pulled into Henry’s delightful whims, caught in a whirlwind of private jets and fancy dinners, Rachel finds herself inexplicably drawn to this handsome and charismatic man. But reality always has a way of intruding, and logic tells her that this adventure can’t last. When real life inevitably comes calling, Rachel must decide if she’s willing to trade in her dream of success in the courtroom for a chance at love.

My Review

Oh my goodness, this book is so much fun.  I was laughing from the first page.  I love how Aubrey writes, with tons of humor and heart.  Rachel is a fabulous character.  She is so much fun and I loved her relationship with Shannon.  Henry was very intriguing too.  He was a mystery, but a character I looked forward to reading more about.  Every page is a delight!  This is probably my favorite book from Aubrey.

5 out of 5 stars.

Author Links

Website / Goodreads / Twitter

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book / Seagull Book

Love on a Whim Blog Tour Banner a Rafflecopter giveaway

Related Posts:

Jul 212015
 
The kiss25763490 Product Description
Title: The Kiss That Launched a 1000 GIFS
Author:Sheralyn Pratt
Genre: Romance
Publisher: Wicked Sassy
Published: July 6, 2015
ASIN: B00ZONLBVK
FTC, FYI: I received a review e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
Reviewed by: Sheila

 
Book Description 
Each weekday from 2:00-4:00 p.m., Grace and Ashton cohost Battle of the Sexes, a radio program arguing the he-said/she-said issues of the day. Their fiery debates often have listeners wondering if there’s more to their relationship than just talk, even though Grace has been dating Phillip, Mr. Tall, Dark, and Perfect, since long before she ever met Ashton Miller. Yet when news comes that Battle of the Sexes is on the bubble for cancellation, Grace and Ashton need to step up their efforts to engage their audience to keep the show alive. When a charity organization approaches them and proposes that the two of them kiss for a fund raiser, Grace and Ash agree to kiss for a good cause. A kiss is just a kiss, right? 

My Review:
This romance has strong characters that is the key to pulling you into this story. From the very first chapter you are hooked and wanting more of the banter that is between Grace and Ashton, co-hosts of a talk radio show called, Battle of the Sexes.

The thing I love even more in this book is Ashton’s relationship with his 15 year old niece, Megan. He has helped raise her and is a true parent figure in her life. her mom, Ashton’s sister hasn’t always been there for Megan. This truly showed what a great guy Ashton is. He even made her put an app on her phone that will track her whereabouts so if she needs him to come help her, he’ll be there. There are so many reasons to love the man Ashton is in this story.

Getting back to the romance…it takes a lot of tension and fiery interaction between Grace and Ashton before they give in to the attraction that has always been there between them. Oh, there is a certain kiss in the middle of the novel that is…Wow!

I read this book in just a few hours because I could not put it down. I loved the ending and the epilogue was sigh worthy. If you are wanting to read a cute romance, with humor, and also playing out the ups and downs of a relationship, The Kiss That Launched a 1000 GIFS is the one for you. I would recommend this book for anyone 18 and older because of some subject matter that is discussed on their talk show. This book gets 5 stars***** from me! This modern day romance needs to be on your Summer reading list and moved to the very top.

Excerpt

“Good afternoon, and welcome to the newest edition of Battle of the Sexes,” Grace said, starting off the show. “With me today is the man who has just proven that the Instagram app is truly foolproof—my no-longer-technically challenged cohost, Ashton Miller.”
Ash leaned forward into the mic. “And with me is the woman I’ve recently learned feels compelled to alert the world via photograph every time she finds a pair of shoes she likes—the woman who takes the ‘anonymous’ out of Shopaholics Anonymous—my lovely cohost, Grace Vasquez.”
Grace was unapologetic. “A good pair of shoes is worth sharing.”
“Oh? Does that mean I should post pictures of my shoes?” Ash asked, picking up his phone and pressing the camera icon.
“You’re wearing hiking boots.”
“That’s right,” Ash said, putting his shoes up on the table and snapping a picture. “These are Salomon Quest 4D GTXes. I wear them any time I go on a shoot that requires some hiking. They’re light, durable, and provide great stability. Is that the sort of thing you share on Instagram?”
“Not really,” Grace said. “But I’m sure Salomon doesn’t mind the free advertising you just handed them.”
“Well, I’m totally posting a picture,” Ash said, in his best valley girl tone. “It’s not every day a man finds comfort, function, and fashion all in one shoe.”
“Indeed,” Grace replied. “I’m still waiting for that day to happen for you.”
Ash smiled against his will and set his phone to the side. He’d post the photo later. Grace was clearly in a mood that required his full attention. “So what are we talking about today? And, please, don’t let it be shoes!”
Grace glanced at her computer screen, giving Ash a view of her stunning profile. Seriously, how was her skin so smooth?
“Today the most up-voted topic is…” She blinked, looking confused. “Huh.”
“Huh?” Ash echoed, intrigued by the look of confusion on Grace’s face.
“Cupcakes,” she said.
“Cupcakes?”
Grace nodded and frowned at her monitor. “Why do men hate cupcakes? is the trending topic at the moment.” Grace looked Ash’s way, visibly confused. “Do men hate cupcakes?”

Purchase your copy

Meet Author Sheralyn Pratt

Sheralyn’s first job was as a karate instructor, which taught her that practice does not make perfect; practice makes habit–good or bad. Martial arts also taught Sheralyn that a master is simply a person who can effortlessly do all the actions a beginner finds difficult or maybe even impossible. Sheralyn has worked in many fields throughout her life, but her 12 years as a karate instructor have shaped how she does everything, including writing and mentoring. She likes to keep things light and fun, but she’s also aware that life is journey and that if you’re going to buy a book, your life should better for it. So, fiction or nonfiction, know that each of Sheralyn’s books are designed to take you to a new place. Maybe that book is designed to help you escape for a few hours, or maybe it’s a book designed to teach you a new skill. Either way, Sheralyn hopes it’s unforgettable…in a good way. ;)

Related Posts:

Jul 202015
 

17451999 The Treasure of Isian

Author: Serena Clarke

Published: September 2012

ISBN13: 9781477540107

Paperback: 216 pages

FTC FYI: Received a Kindle copy in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

Prince Garin is a brave, proud, adventure-seeking prince. Elani is his most trusted servant and she would do anything for him, even die for him.
Their quest to find the mystical Treasure of Isian is immediately interrupted and they find themselves confronted by angry giants, soul-stealing elves, bewitched dragons, a vengeful water-witch, battling foes, and a mysterious kingdom.
Elani must face her greatest fears to save her prince and her kingdom. Garin must decide what the most important things are in his life.
Will they be able to make a great sacrifice to save the kingdom? And will Elani find true love?

Become lost in the adventure, love, loyalty, and mystery of The Treasure of Isian!

My Review

The Treasure of Isian is great story with intriguing characters.  At times I thought the pacing was off, but I was still enjoying the story.  Elani is a fabulous character with lots of heart and she had many adventures.  Garin too was enjoyable and I really liked the turnaround he made from the beginning of the story.  He at first was a spoiled prince who didn’t care much for anything or anyone but himself.  I also enjoyed how Garin started seeing Elani through different eyes.  Serena did a great job with the supporting characters too.  Ander and Jared were great surprises.

4 out of 5 stars.  Book 2, The Alliance of Isian, is also out and I plan on reading it soon.

Author Links 

Goodreads / Website

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Related Posts:

Jul 172015
 

 

Tour Schedule

 

 
3000-Miles-to-Eternity_9781462116317  Product Description:
Title:3,000  Miles to Eternity: A True Internet Love Story
Authors:Duane & Selena Pannell
Published: by CFI(Imprint of Cedar Fort) July 14th 2015,
Pages:272p,
Genre: LDS Non-Fiction/romance
FTC, FYI: I received a copy in exchange for an honest review

 

 

Book Description:
But What if?

What if two people who were meant to be together for eternity had to live their earthly lives separate for many years? And what if when they did finally meet, they were a little broken and the miles apart helped them ease into their destiny together?

Years before online dating became a respectable option, two broken and imperfect souls digitally crossed paths as they tried to find their way back to God. This fascinating true story, told through journals and emails, will have you smiling from start to finish and shedding a few tears along the way. Engaging and entertaining, it’s the perfect reminder of the power of love, redemption, and hope.

Excerpt:

Duane’s Journal
October 25, 2000
I had breakfast this morning with one of the guys from the bottling plant. We see each other a couple of times a day for a few minutes as I make my way back and forth to my warehouse and we have become friends. Mark is a big man and really opinionated. He probably knows a lot about some things, but I don’t think I’m going to take relationship advice from him.
I told him that I had been on the Internet for the past few months looking for a potential wife. He thought that was outrageous. “You know women lie. You’re liable to end up with some crazy chick that’ll strangle you in your sleep, or . . . or worse, take all your money and leave you with a bunch of kids that don’t even belong to you.”
I asked, “Well, Mark, how do you suggest I meet a good woman?”
“I met all three of my ex-wives in a bar,” he said, “That’s the best place to look for a woman ‘cause when they have a few drinks, they can’t keep a secret—they got anything bad, it’s comin’ out!”
I think I’m just going to stick with my current plan.                                                         
Selena’s Journal
October 16, 2000
Having a weekend away has been a needed break for me. Kristine, another of Paige’s friends, came over and all our talking and laughing took a decidedly unexpected turn. Paige was telling her about Donna’s news and apparently during the phone call between them, she had also told Paige about being on a single’s website. She said she saw Paige’s sister Jacqueline on the same site. Paige, with her little “tee hees,” thought it would be great fun to sneak into single’s world and have a look at her sister’s profile. We tried to do that, but the way the site is set up didn’t allow random people to just come on in and gawk. Someone had to sign up.
Well, guess who got this dubious honor? My dear friend Paige said, “Selena, you’re almost divorced. You do it.” Almost divorced? Are you kidding me? I only filed two days ago! But I was a good sport (sort of) and did  the deed. While those two giggled among themselves, I zipped through the “sign up free for seven days” registration. I couldn’t help but mutter under my breath at how ridiculous this whole thing was, all these silly people shopping for love. It seemed kind of pathetic and made me want to gag. As I was grumbling, Paige and Kristine were having great laughs at my expense and my obvious discomfort with the whole crazy idea.
And so we entered the forbidden zone, wandering around singles’ world and peeking here and there. Satisfied that we’d stealthily invaded Jacquie’s privacy and seen all there was to see, we signed off. This little adventure, however, has not changed my mind.
I’ve decided I will never marry again, ever, under any circumstances.

My Review:
As a divorced woman I’ve contemplated jumping into the Internet dating scene, but I’ve not done it yet. After reading this book, maybe, just maybe, I’ll give it a shot. It truly speaks to the hopes and fears of single/divorced people that are looking for love, but may be hesitant because of not wanting to get hurt again.

I do want to say, this is not a dating “How-To” book at all. This book is a look at two people who go through so much soul searching as they befriend each other almost 3,000 miles apart. They have both been through their own kind of hell and are tired of it all. They are single parents trying to do their best. I enjoyed reading about their friendship that did eventually end up in love, but it took some time. There was a lot of purging of the souls, and taking some good hard look at themselves and how they view life.

This book made me think long and hard about my own life. I think it will make other readers do the same, whether divorced or if you’ve been married for 30 years. This book will show lessons of having faith and hope in your life, as well as forgiving others and yourself. It’s entertaining and reads like a novel with the journal excerpts and emails. It’s based on the life of LDS people, but I think anyone of any faith will enjoy reading this.


Meet Authors:
Duane & Selena Pannell 

DUANE AND SELENA PANNELL ‘met’ online while living in Virginia, USA and Alberta, Canada respectively. After a complicated long-distance relationship spanning four years, they married and have a son together. Their first book is borne of yet another separation in their lives when Selena was in Alberta for several months in 2013 with her dying father.

Duane was going through their old correspondence because he is a “mushy man” and thought this was a story worth telling. After some coaxing, he convinced Selena and with a little help from googledocs they began their collaboration on 3,000 Miles To Eternity.

They have just completed a three year mission in the LDS Addiction Recovery Program, where they served as group leaders and led two 12 Step meetings a week in Vernal, Utah. Duane is putting the final touches on a manuscript addressing addiction recovery while Selena homeschools their son and teaches archery in her spare time.

Book Website  3000milestoeternity.com

Author Website & Blog   pannellbytes.com
Facebook Book Page  3000MilesToEternity
Twitter  pannellbytes
Amazon Buy the Book
******A Note From the Authors******
“Reading it will be like peeking over the shoulders of two individuals who have, through an unusual twist , stumbled across each other on a single’s dating website. One is sincerely seeking a mate, the other determined never to marry again. Both have an agenda and because neither expects in a million years to meet the other, they feel free to be uncommonly candid. This snapshot of an unlikely online relationship combines honesty and humor as themes of divorce, addiction, pornography, depression and matters of spiritual import are explored. While some themes are heavy, they are handled sensitively and should not be offensive to any reader. We tried to keep this in mind as we considered young adult relatives or friends who will be reading 3,000 Miles…”

Related Posts:

  • No Related Posts
Jul 152015
 

25347579 Worth Waiting For

Author: Sally Johnson

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: July 1st, 2015

ISBN13: 978-1-68047-240-0

Paperback: 180 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

Sophia thought she was over her broken heart, but the news that her roommate has eloped with Sophia’s ex-husband hits the nineteen-year-old like a ton of bricks. She knows she should be fine with the unexpected revelation–after all, her boyfriend, Luke, is incredible, but it would seem her heart is not as resilient as she thought. And as Luke prepares to leave for his European study abroad, Sophia’s feelings of fear and inadequacy threaten to overwhelm her.

A summer with her family in Las Vegas gives Sophia the time she needs but she still can’t shake the questions haunting her, the questions that continually threaten to put more than physical distance between Luke and her. Is she really ready to jump into a new relationship when the last one ended so painfully? Will her divorce always define her? Is she the one with the problem?

As she wistfully observes others’ love stories blossoming around her, Sophia must decide whether she’s prepared to take another chance on love. Luke’s return from Europe forces Sophia to confront the decision she’s not sure she’s prepared for–will her troubled past destroy the happy ending she’s always dreamed of?

My Review

I didn’t realize this was a sequel until I was writing this review.  It can stand alone, but previous dates, and/or other events that were mentioned and not explained make sense now why they weren’t explained in this book.  That didn’t take me out the story though, I still really enjoyed it.  I really liked Sophia and I sympathized with her.  I thought her inner voice was very funny at times and I appreciated her humor.  This is a great book about letting go and putting your life back together, but also taking your time to really know what you want, and Sophia needed that time.  I loved Luke, he is a great guy, with mounds of kindness and patience.  The other characters were great too.  I wish there was more time with Justin, he was very funny and Gretchen was great too.  There were some scenes in the last few chapters where I was laughing out loud.

4 out of 5 stars.

Author Links

GoodreadsFacebook

Buy Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble / Deseret Book  / Seagull Book

Related Posts:

Jul 062015
 

25482374 Veils and Vengeance (A Wedding Planner Mystery #2)

Author: Rachelle J. Christensen

Publisher: Peachwood Press

Published: July 7th, 2015

ISBN13: 9780692462331

Paperback: 347 pages

FTC FYI: Received an ebook copy in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Mindy

Goodreads Summary

When wedding planner, Adrielle Pyper, goes to Hawaii to orchestrate a destination wedding, she isn’t prepared for what she finds.

After the trauma of her previous event, the beautiful isle of Kauai is the perfect place for Adri to unwind and do what she does best – plan. She even lets herself indulge in the attention of the groom’s handsome brother. But just when everything seems to be perfect, an afternoon snorkeling trip turns to murder when Adri discovers the body of a young woman.

Shaken, but unable to let it go, Adri’s sleuthing leads her into more danger than she could imagine. When a number of “accidents” threaten her own life, it soon becomes apparent that someone will do anything to keep Adri from interfering with their vengeance.
For great craft tips, visit Adri’s website,www.mashedpotatoesandcrafts.com.

My Review

I love a great mystery that keeps my interest and keeps the pages turning.  This book does all that very well.  I really enjoyed the first book in the Wedding Planner Mysteries: Diamond Rings are Deadly Things, so I knew I was going to jump right back into another story for Adri.  I loved the Hawaiian setting, that was a character on its own.  Adri is a fabulous character.  Her attention to detail and how she organized she is is entertaining to read.  I enjoyed how Adri had attention from two men.  Both were great for her, but one I liked a little bit better.  As the story progressed, I enjoyed where the author went with the mystery, doing a perfect job of planting the right amount of seeds to try to throw me off the trail of who the killer was.

4 out of 5 stars.  I hope Rachelle will do more books in this series!

Author Links

Website / Twitter / Facebook  / Goodreads

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble

Related Posts: